Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I don’t feel fat, but I am. I am finally reaching this revelation now. At 41 I am still pretty healthy and spry, but at 5’1″ and 200 pounds, I know if I don’t make some major changes soon I am going to be like those fat old ladies I see who can barely move and no one wants to have sex with (I am a Scorpio). My spousal equivalent loves me, I know he does, but when I wear a sleeveless top and he gives me that “you have pterodactyl wings going on there and it is NOT attractive AT ALL” look (he is very expressive), I’m not gonna lie, it smarts.

I am a strong, smart, enlightened, independent woman but dammit, I don’t want my man looking at me with not well veiled, albeit unintentional disgust. More than that, I want to be able to keep doing things, fun things. The fatter and less healthy and fit I am, the fewer things I am going to be able to do, and that sucks.

I have wasted way too much time over the last 10 or so years making excuses, not exercising, eating way too much and just being stupid in general. I am a very smart person, but when it comes to being honest with myself about weight, diet, exercise and the like, I can be, well stupid.

In addition to my admission that I am indeed fat, I am also pursuing a doctorate in education. I have taken three classes so far and absolutely love it. I hope to be formally admitted to my program by fall of 2014. This will be an additional stress for me, and I know if I don’t get myself into some new and healthy habits LIKE RIGHT NOW I am not going to be healthy enough to A. complete a dissertation B. enjoy the fruits of my labor C. Get out of this desk chair without assistance..

So, this is my way of putting it all out there. I am creating a Finally Fat…Finally Fit. I will document what I hope to be a long and fruitful journey and not the one that ends with me eating an entire bag of chili lime tortilla chips about a week after coming to one of these epiphanies.

I tend to criticize people for sharing too much on social networking sites, but in this case, I don’t think keeping it private is an option any longer. If I am going to be honest with myself and admit FINALLY that I am fat, then I need to admit it to the world (or at least the 2 people reading this blog. Hi mom!). Now, maybe, just maybe I can start reaching my real goal of becoming FINALLY FIT.

Image

10 comments on “Finally Fat…Finally Fit

  1. amy
    July 29, 2013

    Go for it! This old college pal will be rooting you on! (And maybe get inspired!)

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Thank you Amy. I have been shocked and pleasantly surprised by the support so far (ha ha, so far…day 3)

  2. Amy B.
    July 29, 2013

    Awesome girl! I know you can do it! You are a Mighty Tri Girl. I’ve been slack the past month & I just started reclaiming my diet back today. Looking forward to watching you tackle & then conquer this goal.

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Thank you Amy! I used to feel mighty, but like you I have been slacking, but for more like a few years. Time to reclaim my mightiness!

  3. Heather
    July 30, 2013

    As we both know, it ain’t easy being green. But, if anyone can do what they set their mind to, it is you. Also, I’ve listened and been amused by your rants, speeches, and jokes as long as I can remember. Now I have the pleasure of reading them 🙂

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Word to your muthuh. I don’t know what that was all about. I look forward to further amusing you.

  4. Andrea
    July 30, 2013

    You can do this….it’s a journey in life that you don’t have to take by yourself…any support you need from me….you got it….NOW GO BE FIT!!

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Thanks Andrea! It’s taken me such a long time to get to a point where I not only realize that but actually live it. Thanks for your friendship and support and right back at ya!

  5. Brian
    July 31, 2013

    I am nowhere near where I’d like to be on my journey to being “finally fit”, but I can tell you that by letting others know what I’m doing, it’s not just because I’m in the habit of sharing too much info. It’s because there’s an accountability factor in what I’m doing. It keeps me moving and keeps me motivated.

    I enjoy the blog. Keep it up.

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Thanks Brian. You have come such a long way so far! I agree with you about the accountability factor. When you keep your efforts a secret, no one but you knows when you fail. It’s not that you want people to shame you, but it is the support and empathy that really helps! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2013 by in First Post and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

