Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

The Journey Begins…Again…and again…and

Someone once said “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” It was either Lao-Tzu or Bob Dylan. Dylan also said “Little red wagon, little red bike, I ain’t no monkey, but I know what I like” so I think I will go with Dylan.

As wisdom filled as the monkey quote is, I think the first one is more appropriate here. Obviously my first step on this “journey” was starting this blogging extravaganza. However, when I initially wrote this, I hadn’t actually created the blog yet. I did mention the whole doctorate thing right? I kind of needed to do a little research first. Sheesh.

My First Step

Small, incremental changes. That is the way to implement lasting change and transformation. That being said, I am happy to admit that my first change and thus first official step on this journey has been to… (drum roll please)…

DELETE FARMVILLE 2 FROM MY FACEBOOK

Don’t laugh. OK, laugh a little. Seriously folks, do you have any idea how much time I was wasting planting fake fruits and vegetables. Please revisit my previous statement about doing stupid things. When you are “planting crops” over lunch that will be ready to harvest when you get home from work, you have a problem. So that’s it, cold turkey, no more Farmville. Oh, I deleted Bejeweled Blitz also. Candy Crush Saga? Now that I am keeping. Small, incremental changes remember?

My Second Step

I may never use them, but with the help of a real life successful blogger named John Saddington, I just purchased two domain names. To be honest, I have no flippin idea what to do with them, but finallyf.it cost me $33 and sheilaconfer.com, just $15. I am trying not to be at all offended that my name is so cheap.

Alright, I have taken two steps all before 6am (I couldn’t sleep and that does not bode well for my continued journey today). I think that will do for now.

5 comments on “The Journey Begins…Again…and again…and

  1. Mom
    July 30, 2013

    Nice. You rock.

  2. Joe Frambach
    July 30, 2013

    Building your personal brand is a very big thing to do. Keep at it.

  3. Gayle
    July 31, 2013

    Good for you! If you have the courage to ad lib live on stage, you can certainly do it in the blogosphere!

  4. Ann Sowards
    August 17, 2013

    I feel better already about all the time I waste taking care of a half acre of blackberries, peaches, cherries, apples, pears, strawberries, and assorted vegetables all contained within a warren of fences to keep the 6 Wieners from rototilling the whole thing…and it’s not an old stablished “farm” either, so it takes a lot of work. But could be doing FarmVille, instead, as you point out, and have nothing good to pop in my mouth as I pull weeds and feed the plants…and then I guess I’d really feel like I was wasting time instead of writing my blog, painting, etc…all things I don’t do regularly and wish I did….instead of waiting for inspiration! Ha ha, very shrewd insights into human procrastination! Thanks for making me smile!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .
