Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Challenge…wait for it…Accepted

So if I am going to do this thing, I need to have goals, little challenges to keep things interesting. So I decided to begin with the challenge of all challenges (for me)…cheese. Not just any cheese, but my favorite cheese, fresh mozzarella. That picture of a measly 1 oz I posted last night came from this guy here:

Image

That’s 16 oz, 16 servings, 8 meals (since I cook for two, and yes the other person is real).  What? I could polish that boy off for breakfast. I joke about eating 16 oz of cheese in one sitting, but I do it (credit to Ellen Degeneres for the format of that joke, which I use A LOT). But seriously, I don’t think I have ever eaten 16 oz of cheese at one time. I am thankful my food issues do not go that far, but in the past, depending on my mood, this log o’ cheese would be history in about 3-4 days. So, the challenge is to consume the cheese in reasonable amounts over a normal amount of time. Can she do it? Well, I haven’t had breakfast yet and I am already fixated on cheese, not good. But I have a plan!

Yesterday I bought copious amounts of fruits and veggies. When I got home I did the most miraculous thing. Instead of simply throwing everything into the fridge in the plastic bags where it could rot and turn into soup (please remind me to tell the potato story at some point), I cut everything up, put it in glass containers and arranged it in the fridge so it is the first thing I see. I have to open a drawer to get to the cheese (which I am still thinking about). But now I am also thinking about the amazing mangos I found yesterday that I was able to get all of the delicious fruit from because I have one of these:

Image

 

This, my lovelies, is a mango pitter. The salt and pepper shakers were my grandmother’s and were on the counter, match the mango pitter, so I put them in the picture. I am not big on kitchen gadgets that don’t make my life any easier (like that stupid avocado slicer), but I can also be a menace with knives, so the mango pitter is my new best friend.

 

7 comments on “Challenge…wait for it…Accepted

  1. Scot
    July 30, 2013

    This is the best! YOU are beautiful! And I love your grandma’s S & P shakers. Some might consider that just a sentimental indulgence, but can anyone say that your color palette is not spot on?

  2. Dr. Duh
    July 30, 2013

    There is something gratifying about colorful food all cut up and greeting you when you open the fridge! Love the S&P shakers.

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 30, 2013

      There is! And, I had music blasting while I was cutting it up and took frequent dance breaks. Cardio!

  3. Dr. Duh
    July 30, 2013

    PS Fresh mozzarella cheese is one of my weaknesses too!

  4. Alicia
    July 30, 2013

    Does this little mango gadget actually work, though? I have always been tempted to buy one….but figured I’d jsut end up disappointed (much like I usually am with most kitchen gadgets) and so I never commit to my purchase. User reviews, please!!

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 30, 2013

      It does work! I used it on two mangos last night, and while it does leave a bit of fruit on the pit, I just sucked that right off!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
