Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

A Little Inspiration Can Go A Long Way. 5 things I learned yesterday.

Yesterday was tough. In fact, it was downright anti-climactic. Coming down off the high of Day 1 as a blogger (that inspiration that hit me at 3 am when I couldn’t sleep Sunday night after we got back from vacation) made the day just kind of blah. But I made some important discoveries:

1. A kale, blueberry and banana smoothie made with almond milk may be delicious and healthy and make you feel like you are Jennifer Aniston preparing her stripper body for that new movie she is in that actually looks rather entertaining, and you hope is because you have always had a secret (now not so secret) girl crush on Jennifer Aniston, but it is just not enough for breakfast. I was hungry ALL DAY.

2. Keep busy. It’s almost August, crunch time for those of us in higher education. Students are waking up from their summer slumber, syllabi need to be revised, trainings developed and scheduled, policies written, re-written and revised, rooms reserved, stuff ordered, and all the stuff I said I was going to do in May and June but didn’t because it was only May or June. Hmmm, maybe it’s not just the students waking up from a summer slumber…

3. Number 2 is impossible if you are hungry most of the day.

4. Take lots of snacks.  I took some fruit and a rice cake (I like them, shut up) with almond butter and for lunch, an avocado and tomato half sandwich. I tried to spread that all out through the day. I ended up eating the fruit at 9:30 (an hour before I planned). Then I forced myself to wait until 12:30 to eat the half sandwich (what kind of fool only eats a half of a sandwich?) and then almost immediately had the rice cake with almond butter because I was STARVING. So the rest of the afternoon I drank water, looked at the clock and got not much accomplished because I was focusing all of my energy on staying away from the stupid vending machines.

5. I need something to inspire me every single day or I am going to go off the rails. So here is what inspired me yesterday:

As I said, I was a raging hunger machine most of the day, so when I left to drive home all I could think about was eating. I had a plan. Eat some fruit. But I know how that plan goes. I eat some fruit, then some cheese, then some crackers with some more cheese, and then instead of exercising or taking care of some stuff around the house I either sit down and watch an episode of The West Wing or I start cooking dinner. If I eat dinner TOO early I want to snack. This is the direction I was heading in as I drove home yesterday Then I saw Betsy. Betsy lives in our neighborhood. When I first moved here I saw Betsy, who was probably 60+ at the time, out walking EVERY DAY. She walked all over the place, the neighborhood, the town, and she did it every single day. She would always wave and smile as she passed. Betsy was a nice lady. One day Betsy was the victim of a hit and run driver. Our neighborhood sits in between three very busy roads where people drive way to fast (myself included) and there are no sidewalks, so to walk anywhere you need to walk on one of those roads at some point. Betsy survived the accident, but was hurt very badly. We would get updates on her progress from her daughter and other neighbors who said she was improving, but I think we all assumed Betsy’s walking days were over. That was at least three years ago, and while I have seen Betsy out around the cul de sac near her house it was not until yesterday I saw her walking on one of the busy roads above our neighborhood. She walks a bit lopsided now due to her injuries and has slowed down slightly, but she is walking, on the road, so she can get somewhere. I don’t know if this is a new development or if I just hadn’t noticed it until yesterday when I most certainly needed to. Betsy was my inspiration yesterday, I got home and had a little bit of popcorn, not sitting down because I wouldn’t have gotten back up, but while strolling around the yard dead heading my flowers. Then I exercised, did some cleaning, laundry, etc, all before making dinner. I still wanted to snack last night before bed and had a little bit more popcorn (salty and sweet from the Coastal Maine Popcorn Co. This stuff is like crack), but the day ended far better than it would have had Betsy not been walking.

 

6 comments on “A Little Inspiration Can Go A Long Way. 5 things I learned yesterday.

  1. Alecia
    July 31, 2013

    Good job, Sheila! Try adding a 1/4 cup (experiment with the amount you can tolerate) of rinsed “no-salt added” white beans (cannellini or great northern) to that smoothie & blend well. The resistant starch in the beans will keep you fuller longer. Fiber, protein – the magical fruit!

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Thanks Alecia! I love beans, but I don’t eat them often enough so when I do, the “tolerance” as you call it 🙂 is just not there.

  2. Dr. Duh
    July 31, 2013

    Protein is your friend…trying adding in some scrambled egg whites, some hardboiled egg whites, or some low-fat Greek yogurt. I know the nuts have protein, but sometimes they aren’t as satifying or filling as egg whites (which also have a lot less calories and fat perserving). White chicken would also be a good addition. I also find that natural/no-sugar-added applesauce is handy to keep around. It’s going to take your appetite some time to adjust to the new lifestyle.

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Duh! I am usually big on protein for breakfast, but I have been reading about how greens are also a good source of protein so I figured along with the almond milk…I was wrong. I did have a scrambled egg with some added egg whites this morning. I will be posting a pic soon 🙂

  3. Heather K.
    July 31, 2013

    I am always hungry by 10:30 AM so I try to eat protein for breakfast too. A hard boiled egg, one string cheese, a piece of whole grain toast, and a piece of fruit usually holds me over until morning snack time. Now, let’s be realistic. The giant bowl of Cookie Crisp cereal is what I would REALLY like to have for breakfast but I know I should have given it up well before the age of 39. I can’t help it. Cookie Crisp is and always will be my favorite cereal! I must indulge on occasion. Now, back to trying to eat like a grown-up…. A handful of almonds around 10:30 typically gets me to lunch around 1:00 PM.

    • sheilaeconfer
      July 31, 2013

      Froot Loops. I think it has more to do with the misspelling of fruit though 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .
