Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Building a Better Breakfast Volume 2

When I was little we would sometimes have breakfast for dinner. I loved that! It was usually pancakes and sausage or sometimes eggs, fried potatoes with onions and peppers and toast. I am thankful I have never felt like I am in a box when it comes to what kinds of food I can eat for a particular meal. I especially enjoy vegetables for breakfast. I can eat anything at anytime. This is both a blessing and a problem. But in the case of today’s breakfast, I call blessing.

Image

Ingredients

1t grapeseed oil

1/4 c chopped onions

6 T Egg Whites

1/4 c cooked wild rice

1/4 c black beans

1/4 avocado

1/2 c halved cherry tomatoes

1T salsa

2c Salad greens

lime juice (which I forgot, but it needs to be there)

Instructions

Saute onions in oil. Turn heat down to medium and add egg whites. Stir to scramble. When egg whites are just about cooked, add rice and beans and stir until heated. Remove from heat and stir in avocado, tomatoes and salsa. Dump this on top of your greens, add a squirt of lime juice.

I don’t want to become fixated on calories, but I will say this was a ton of food, very filling and came in at under 300 calories.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2013 by in Recipe with Commentary and tagged , , , , , , .
