Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Sometimes Bigger IS Better…Challenge #2

Just to recap:

Challenge #1 – Consume the 16 oz “log” of delicious, fresh, creamy mozzarella cheese in the fridge in reasonable amounts over a normal amount of time. Progress: 14 oz, (make that 12, kidding) still remain. 

Since Challenge #1 is going well, and since we found ourselves unexpectedly in the vicinity of Costco this evening, I decided to issue a second…wait for it…and please excuse my excessive use of ellipses…wait for it… …CHALLENGE.

Challenge # 2 has two parts. Part 1 was to get in and out of Costco without spending a fortune or purchasing that huge bag of tortilla chips that are so wonderfully cheap but end up being consumed so rapidly they ultimately cost more. Success!

Part 2 will be harder. I addition to tuna, pickles (I am not) and a HUGE box of Raisin Bran (not for me) that will last until doomsday, I also bought blueberries and gold cherry tomatoes in rather alarmingly large quantities. I have no doubt we will make a valiant effort to consume these goodies, but I want to get creative with them. How many ways can I use blueberries and gold cherry tomatoes (preferably not together, but I am not completely opposed to the idea)? This is where you come in. Ideas? Lay them on me. Points for participation!

Image

 

11 comments on “Sometimes Bigger IS Better…Challenge #2

  1. Scot
    August 1, 2013

    I would take a ruby red grapefruit, break the skin off but leave all that white stuff…you know, where your mom told you all the vitamins were? and put it in a blender with about a cup of water. Blend. Add a big handful of the blueberries and blend again. Add a bunch of those golden lovelies and blend again. Add some sweetener (stevia is good, or agave nectar). You got it…blend again. You are really catching on! Add some ice cubes for that nice milkshake consistency and blend….for the last time!! This is really good stuff. Now, if you’d like to climb out on the raw vegan limb, add a big handful of something green. Preferably something green that you like. Parsley, kale, lettuce. Just sayin’!

    • sheilaeconfer
      August 1, 2013

      Oh, I never thought of adding the the tomatoes to a smoothie. I don’t know why. They are so sweet. I think I would do mango instead of grapefruit, but I like it! Maybe add a little vodka?

      • Scot
        August 1, 2013

        Now THAT’S called cookin”!!

  2. Brian
    August 1, 2013

    I’ve come to love sauteing various veggies together, particularly cherry tomatoes. They have such a wonderful taste after they’ve been sauteed for a bit. Last week, I sauteed some portabellas and cherry tomatoes together on a total whim. I loved it!

    • Heather K
      August 1, 2013

      I agree with Brian…sauteing tomatoes=yum! Cut them in half. Saute with fresh garlic, fresh spinach or kale, olive oil, salt and pepper and maybe a shake of hot pepper flakes. Add a bit of veggie stock to make it a little saucy. Toss in cooked whole grain pasta. Good stuff.

    • sheilaeconfer
      August 1, 2013

      Yum. Sauteed cherry tomatoes TONIGHT!

  3. Dr. Duh
    August 1, 2013

    I agree with Brian. Sautee those tomatoes with some garlic and onion (and other things too), add some steamed veggies to the pan for the last minute or two and serve over some poached/baked/grilled chicken breast. YUM You could even add a small serving of parmesan cheese. 🙂

    • sheilaeconfer
      August 1, 2013

      OK! I usually don’t saute cherry tomatoes because I enjoy the texture and taste of them raw, but I think cooking them a bit can also reduce the acidity. We are having chicken tonight, and I was going to get some asparagus. I am thinking sauteed garlic, asparagus and gold cherry tomatoes with a little shaved parm…mmmmmm

  4. Alicia
    August 1, 2013

    We all know that there are plenty of variations on green salads that include strawberries. Totally tasty. But, sometimes I like to get crazy and use blueberries instead of strawberries. Go ahead….get crazy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .
