Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Summer in a Bag, or Basket or an Armload, Whatev

As I mentioned in my previous post, we belong to a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) at a local organic farm. You can find one near you here http://www.localharvest.org.

Image

We have been doing the CSA for about seven years now. Sometime in the fall we get a helpful reminder from our farmer, Paul. If we sign up early and send him some seed money (literally), we get a nice discount on our share. Then if we volunteer to help on the farm on harvest day, picking, washing and packing, we get another large discount. Since my parents are both retired, they do the day at the farm, bring me the food and  I cook it. My spousal equivalent eats it, and to his credit, usually does the lion’s share of the clean up.

We all know (or should know) eating locally grown produce, organic or not, is a much healthier way to eat, both for our bodies and the planet. I would much rather buy locally grown peppers that are not organic than peppers that arrived from Holland. Seriously, Holland.

Not only does this food just taste better and fresher, I am 100% convinced it cured my seasonal allergies. I used to have terrible allergies. I took drugs, got shots, had sinus infections, asthma and was basically miserable most of the spring and summer…fall and winter too. I had read that eating local honey regularly, starting in the winter could help alleviate seasonal allergies by slowly exposing you to the local pollens that you are allergic to. Well, I am not a huge honey fan. I mean, I like it in tea or in a salad dressing, but to take a teaspoon of honey every day and just eat it? Nah.

What I noticed though was the first spring following our first year doing the CSA, my allergies kind of went away. Now, I still get the sniffles around an occasional cat or if I mainline some flower pollen, but no lie, my allergies are GONE.

This year was supposed to be the worst year for allergies. Everyone around me is sniffling, sneezing and is basically miserable, and I (knock wood) am fine. That being said, my mom and my spousal equivalent (we’ll call him Bruce), still suffer from allergies and are eating very similarly to me. I think this is merely a case of something working for one person and not another, which is the case with many non synthetic, natural remedies. What works for you doesn’t necessarily work across the board.

But whether you are an allergy sufferer or not, I would urge you to look into a local CSA. It is cheaper, tastier and way more fun than the produce aisle at the grocery store.

Oh right, I was going to include a recipe. The following I made from part of this week’s bounty:

Garbanzo and Summer Squash Salad

Salad

1 summer squash (or zucchini) cut into small pieces

1/2-1 Red onion finely sliced

2 cloves chopped garlic

1 can rinsed garbanzo beans

1/4 c chopped parsley

Dressing:

Juice and zest of 1/2 lemon

1/4 c olive oil

salt and pepper

Instructions: Mix the salad ingredients. Then mix the dressing ingredients. Toss everything together. Eat it.

As a reminder, this is what my squash looked like as I cut it up:

Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
