Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Monday Weigh In? Nah, but let’s see what’s for dinner!

Image

One of the biggest mistakes I have made in the past is the stupid weekly weigh in. Here is what I know, last week I reduced my calorie intake, kept track of what I ate, drank plenty of water, got lots of sleep and exercised more than usual. Guess what? I know I lost weight! Probably about three pounds. I also know that what I have done in the past after that first week and first loss is, drum roll please…REWARD MYSELF WITH FOOD. I told you I do stupid stuff, and I was NOT kidding. I mean come on, If I can lose 3-4 pounds being that careful and conscientious and active, I can eat more and still lose weight right, right? Crickets. That’s what I thought. Stupid.

So instead I will simply soldier on and consult the scale much later, if ever.

The above picture is of the fixins for tonight’s dinner, which can also very easily be made gluten free by getting legit soba noodles made with 100% buckwheat. They are awesome and completely gluten free. They are also frickin expensive, so I used Koya soba noodles which are a blend of buckwheat and wheat. The noodles are bundled into little serving sizes with paper ribbon, so don’t just dump the package in the boiling water before removing those. That didn’t happen to me. I just heard about it happening to someone else.

Soba Noodles with Dino Kale and Thai Sauce

Ingredients

1 package Soba Noodles

1T grapeseed oil

1 medium red onion (chopped)

4 cloves garlic (crushed)

1 red bell pepper (cut into chunks)

6 oz roasted chicken (optional)

1 bunch Dino Kale, chopped, including stems (Dino kale is a bit more like chard in looks, but it is a beautiful deep green and cooks nice and firm, and the stems are tender enough to just cook up with the leaves)

1 can lite coconut milk

1T green thai chili paste

1T fish sauce (not sure if this is GF. Check the label)

1T Tamari (GF soy sauce)

1T toasted sesame oil

1 lime

Directions

Cook the noodles according to package instructions and rinse with cold water to stop cooking. Heat grapeseed oil in large skillet, and saute the onion and garlic until soft. Add the peppers and kale stems. Let that cook for a few minutes and add the already roasted chicken if using and allow to heat up. Add the coconut milk. Once the coconut milk starts to bubble in the middle of the pan, stir in and dissolve the chili paste. Add the fish sauce and tamari and kale leaves, Cook stirring until leaves begin to wilt. Remove from heat and stir in sesame oil. Squeeze the juice from 1/2 lime on top. Garish with parsley, lime zest and lime slices.

Image

According to the soba package there are three servings of noodles, but the all the veggies this easily makes 6 servings so I will be enjoying it for lunch several times this week!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2013 by in Recipe with Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , .
