Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

Long Donut Lines and Other Things That Inspired Me This Week

In the past when I have “dieted” I always allowed myself a Friday breakfast treat either at Starbucks or Dunkin Donut. When I say treat, I mean an egg white breakfast sandwich, not an actual “treat.” So this morning when I could not stand the thought of yogurt and bran cereal, I decided to head to the Dunkin. I have the Dunkin Donut app on my phone (of course) so I checked to see if there were any special offers I could take advantage of. There was one…a FREE DONUT with the purchase of a medium iced coffee. Curse you Dunkin Donuts! I spent the ENTIRE 5 minute drive to DD talking myself in and out of that damn donut. I know that I can’t just have a donut for breakfast or I will be eating everything in sight by 9:30am, so by the time I pulled into the DD parking lot I had myself convinced I should get my regular egg white flatbread sandwich AND a donut. Brilliant, right? I am such an ass.

Thankfully, the line was longer than usual, so I had a loooong time to think about the complete and utter act of stupidity and sabotage I was about to commit. And then I started to think about something else. I thought about the mean and hateful person I blocked on Facebook this week, a person so miserable with herself she felt the need to send me a nasty personal message because I called her out in a discussion where she was emitting an unbelievably huge  pile of bullshit. Did she address my post in any way? No, of course not. She attacked my weight. Classy, right? But those are the kinds of things that can really derail you. Even though this is something you are doing for yourself, a mean or nasty comment, even from someone who doesn’t matter to you one bit can really do some damage.

I didn’t get the donut.

Image

2 comments on “Long Donut Lines and Other Things That Inspired Me This Week

  1. Mommy
    August 9, 2013

    You are a class act Sheila. Love you.

    • sheilaeconfer
      August 10, 2013

      Aw shucks. Thanks mom 🙂 The apple didn’t fall far from the tree I guess.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
