Finally Fat…Finally Fit

I'm fat. Now, let's get to the important stuff

My Supperdish, My Succotash Wish

Image

I love the challenge of coming up with something awesome when we get our weekly bounty from the farm. This week, in addition to blueberries, apples, potatoes and kale, we also got onions, lots of corn and jalepeno peppers.

I don’t generally cook with hot peppers because I have no idea what I am doing, how many I need to use to make something kind of spicy versus holy shit spicy. So, the jalepenos were an added challenge, and I totally rose to the challenge, if I do say so myself. Now, I am not entirely sure what constitutes succotash, but I think it involves corn, so…

Not at all Sufferin Succotash

Ingredients

4 jalepeno peppers

One red onion

One white onion

Two ears of corn

Lime Juice

Instructions

Halve the peppers and remove the seeds. Leave as much of the whitish vein as you can stand. The seeds and vein is where most of the hot is. In hindsight, I recommend donning a haz mat suit, or at least some plastic gloves. I had some issues. Thankfully I didn’t touch anything sensitive. You’re welcome Bruce.

Roast the pepper halves under the broiler until the skin is brown and bubbly. Remove and place in a bowl of cold water until cool enough to remove the skin.

Halve the onions and separate the layers. Broil those too. Remove when the onions are nice and soft. You may need to remove some burned parts. Or throw those in too. Whatever you are into.

Chop the peppers and onions and mix together.

Cook the corn and remove from the cob. Add corn to the pepper and onions.

Mix in 1-2 T lime juice.

Enjoy on bread or with tortillas, by itself, as a topping for chicken, fish, a burger, WHATEVAH!

2 comments on “My Supperdish, My Succotash Wish

  1. fatfrankly
    August 10, 2013

    Mmmm… that sounds yummy. I’d add some black beans to it myself, but that’s just because black beans are one of my very favorite foods. And Kale! You’ve reminded me that I wanted to post a (healthy) creamed kale recipe. That stuff is to die for. šŸ™‚

    • sheilaeconfer
      August 10, 2013

      Mmmm. Thanks for the comment! I have some leftovers, and I have some kale AND some black beans. I will transform the leftovers into something new! I am always looking for new things to do with kale so will be looking for that (healthy) creamed kale recipe!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2013 by in Recipe with Commentary and tagged , , , , , , .
